Do it for You.

imageThis is for all the people who identify with this IG post I kept seeing a couple weeks ago….since Today is February 1st:

After an unexpected breakup of sorts a few months ago, and about 5 failed attempts at rushing my Annual Soul Search, followed by a long talk with my mother and The Lord in December about where my young adult life was headed, I decided to get myself together for the new year, and for good.

So far, what I call my “21st year glow up” has been going nice and….well I can’t say “easy,” but definitely not bad. I’ve been steadfast in my journey of Faith…I’ve been getting over the sad ending of an interesting situationship more each day…and I’ve been trying to keep my composure as the world grows more ludicrous!

Last year I really struggled with sticking to my goals and taking care to see things through, but before this year started I made a promise to myself that I’d get it together and keep it together. I’m pretty good at keeping promises (mainly because I’m smart enough not to make them) so if nothing else, I can at least see to it that I keep the promises I make to myself. I owe Me that much.

I’m sure if you’re reading this, I’m not too far off the mark by saying you may have made some sort of growth-related resolution for the New Year. I also don’t think I’d be remiss in saying that although it’s only a month and some change into the year, even the little we may or may not have kept up consistently hasn’t been easy. But at least you’re not alone.

After contemplating a little the other day about some of my personal goals (which include but are not limited to getting my GPA back up and drinking more water), I began to wonder when I started to get so soft on myself. I used to expect a lot more from Me. And as soon as I was about to beat myself up for not being where I want to be, I heard my inner voice clear as day, saying “You’re not going to be where you want to be overnight Simone. Every small victory is another step to completion. You don’t start out at the end.”

Now if you’re like me and have a hard time coming to terms with the fact that life isn’t an episode of one of your favorite Netflix Originals, with all the little elements of nicely-written predictability you like…..you’ve also dabbled in the fears of not knowing the outcome of your future which scares you half to death most of the time and keeps you up at night for the rest of it…You’re constantly having to tell yourself to stop freaking out and “get a grip.”

Here’s my suggestion:

Remember that you’re only human and that if you let it, being only human can be a great experience. You WILL make mistakes, and that’s perfectly fine as long as you’re learning from and evolving past them. Make plans, see how they work out, change your course of action, and try again. We’re young and life is about evaluation and elevation. Keep in mind that no matter how far we get in life, we’ll never know it all…..but we can enjoy figuring it out…So keep pushing!

Leave a Reply

