Drama? What’s that?

IMG_3497

Part of what I do as a Social Media Intern for RegalRealness.com is coming up with affirmations and posting them up on our social media pages for our followers/subscribers to see. Through that, I’m happy to say that I’ve been able to inspire other women with the same words and mentality that I have for myself. I decided to expound on this affirmation because it’s one that I keep close to my heart.

In high school I kept a limited amount of friends as I wasn’t very social even though I was involved in many extracurricular activities,  for fear that we wouldn’t remain friends and to avoid high school drama. And although I did avoid a lot of unnecessary drama in high school, it took College to teach me how to be social with everyone without confusing that with being “friends” with everyone.

As I’ve matriculated, I’ve been able to learn myself, make real friends, and accept the fact that I’m not everyone’s cup of tea, and be completely okay with that. I’m focused on my work, taking advantage of great opportunities, and working on being the best version of myself that I can be. I no longer have the extra energy to care what negative opinions people have of me or to engage in situations that I can foresee will become negative. I’ve taken it upon myself to spend the remainder of my internal battery being creative and positive for the sake of myself and those around me.

Many people get lost in the adrenaline that fuels Drama and forget who they are and what their purpose is. As hard as it was for me to discover how to live out what I always felt my purpose is, which I believe is to help and guide others, I can’t afford to be distracted from my path.

If you feel like you’re becoming distracted and engulfed in negative people and situations, my suggestion is that you step back and reevaluate. Decide what’s really important..simple as that. You owe it to yourself to develop a tunnel-vision for following your passion and purpose. At some point we should realize and accept the fact that what’s not an attribute to life truly belongs by the wayside.

Leave a Reply

